Assessor

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the Assessor’s office is currently closed to the public. The Tax Assessor would like to remind everyone that Assessor property cards and maps can be found online. Links to those websites can be found below. Feel free to reach out via phone or email if you have questions.

Assessor: Chandler Rose
Email: crose@voluntown.gov

Phone  860-376-3927

Assistant Assessor Catherine Sarvas
Email 
csarvas@voluntown.gov
Assistant Hours: Monday, Tuesday & Thursday 9:00a.m.-2:00p.m., Tuesday 5:00p.m. – 7:00p.m.

For a list of statutes governing assessment in the state of CT click here

 

ASSESSOR’S NOTICE TO TAXPAYERS

DECLARING PERSONAL PROPERTY: All persons liable to pay taxes are hereby notified to declare all tangible personal property owned by them on October 1, 2020.  Non-residents are required to declare property located in any town for any three months preceding October 1, 2020.  Failure to declare by November 1, 2020 as required by law will result in a 25% PENALTY assessment.

Local Assessors will mail declaration forms to all property owners previously on record. Failure to receive a form does not negate the requirement to declare.  Forms will be available in the Assessor’s Office.

NOTE:  Real property or Connecticut registered motor vehicles do not need to be declared.  Taxable personal property includes:  unregistered motor vehicles, motor vehicles located in Connecticut but registered in another state, horses and ponies, mobile manufactured homes not assessed as real estate, manufacturing machinery and equipment, business furniture and fixtures, farm machinery, farming tools, mechanics tools, electronic data processing equipment, telecommunication equipment, cables, conduits, pipes, poles, business expensed supplies and other property such as billboards, video games, vending machines, leasehold improvements, etc.

VETERANS who served for more than ninety days during a time of war or have been disabled must have recorded their honorable discharge with the Town Clerk by October 1, 2020 in order to receive a minimum of $1,000 assessment exemption.  Disabled Veterans need to file proof of their VA rating with the Assessor to receive an increased exemption.

ADDITIONAL VETERANS EXEMPTION: Increased exemptions are available for those who meet necessary income requirements and the above Veterans’ criteria.  An application along with proof of income must be filed with the Assessor biennially.  Filings for this year must be made by October 1, 2020.

ARMED SERVICE MEMBERS may obtain an exemption on one (1) passenger motor vehicle if proof is submitted.  See local Assessor.

TOTALLY DISABLED: any person under the age of 65 that has been awarded total disability must apply by January 31, 2021 in order to receive a $1,000 assessment exemption.  Applicants must furnish proof of award.

FARM MACHINERY & EQUIPMENT:  Eligible farmers must file the notarized exemption application on or before November 1, 2020.

MANUFACTURING MACHINERY AND EQUIPMENT installed in a manufacturing facility and used in the manufacturing process may be allowed exemption.  Eligible manufacturers must complete and file the MME Exemption Application by November 1, 2020.

NEW COMMERCIAL TRUCKS with a gross vehicle rating in excess of 26,000 lbs. should check with the Assessor’s office for tax exemption eligibility.  Application must be completed and filed with the assessor by November 1, 2020.

LAND CLASSIFICATION:  Persons seeking to classify land under Farm, Forest or Open Space, for the first time, must file between September 1, 2020 and October 31, 2020 with the Assessor.  Persons seeking to classify as Forest must also have a complete certified forester’s report done by October 1st.  Only changes to the original filing (ownership, use or acreage) need to be reported annually.

Voluntown Assessor’s Office

Rev. 8.06.20

 

2020 Property Revaluation Information

eQuality Valuation Services, LLC has been hired by the Town of Voluntown to assist the Assessor and the Town of Voluntown with our 2020 Revaluation.

For the list of official eQuality Valuation Services employees who will be working in Voluntown and their vehicle information, go here. Please call the  Assessor’s office if you have any questions or concerns at 860-376-3927.

 

Property information( aka property record card) Vision Appraisal.

Owner/Assessment information is generally updated quarterly.

For access to tax maps visit NECCOG GIS

Assessor’s Maps are for department/tax information only. Legal descriptions and survey maps are found in the Land Record/Office of the Town Clerk

 

Circuit Breaker-Elderly and Totally Disabled Homeowner Tax Credit

2019 Income limits :   Single 37, 000   Married  45,100

Documentation of all income must be supplied at the time an application is entered.

Filing period:  02/01/2020-05/15/2020

Assistance with applications is available BY APPOINTMENT

To qualify you must have reached the age of 65 on or by 12/31/2019 or been deemed Totally Disabled by the Social Security Administration or equal.

 

The Voluntown Assessor’s office is responsible for the discovery, listing and valuation of all real estate, personal property and motor vehicles within the town in accordance with Connecticut General Statutes.  The Assessor’s office also administers various exemption programs.

Voluntown’s Current mill rate for the October 1, 2019 Grand List is 29.21

Real Estate:  Real estate is assessed at 70% of fair market value as of the date of last revaluation.  The last town-wide revaluation was conducted for the October 1, 2015 Grand List.  The next scheduled revaluation is for the October 1, 2020 Grand List and is currently in progress.

Personal Property:  All owners of taxable Personal Property located in the Town of Voluntown are required to file a Personal Property Declaration with the Assessor on or before November 1st pursuant to CGS 12-41.  This includes all persons conducting business, professionals, occupations or trades, farmers, owners of unregistered motor vehicles, owners of non-Connecticut registered motor vehicles, recreational vehicle owners that are located in Voluntown, Mobile Manufactured Homes not assessed as Real Estate and owners of horses, ponies and thoroughbreds.

Motor Vehicle Tax Adjustments and Removal:  The Assessor’s office is also responsible for the adjustment and removal of motor vehicles that appear on  the taxable grand list as allowed by Connecticut State Statutes.  Two appropriate forms of proof must be provided in the time allowed to substantiate claims of vehicles sold, stolen and not recovered, totaled, junked or vehicles registered in another state.

 

Assessment Notices and BAA Petitions

2019 Assessment Notices will be mailed the last week in January 2020 to any owner of Real Estate or Personal Property whose property value realized an increase from 2018GL to 2019GL as well as owners of Personal Property being  assessed a 25% assessment penalty.  Assessment penalties equal to 25% the assessed value must, by state statute, be assessed for owners not filing a declaration or filing late (after November 1, 2019 without prior extension request approval).

Some of the most common reasons a Real Estate Notice of Increase may be issued are:

  • Property has sold and personal exemptions or tax relief granted to the previous owner have been removed from the account.
  • Land has been reconfigured i.e. combined, split, or a survey map recorded which corrects acreage
  • Land was classified as farm or forest under Public Act 490 and has changed ownership or use
  • Building improvements have been made
  • Errors in listing your property have been corrected i.e. number of bedrooms, bathrooms, square foot living area, outbuildings etc.

Keep in mind, these notices represent updates to your account since 10/1/2019.  Please do not hesitate to contact the Assessor with questions, the notice will include values, contact information and deadline to enter a petition to appeal with the Board of Assessment Appeals.

The deadline to enter a Petition to the Board of Assessment Appeals for the 2019 Grand List is 2/20/2020 by 2:00pm.  Petitions for printing are listed below in the “Common Forms” section of this page.  When appealing to the BAA, please be sure to prepare evidence to submit at your hearing i.e. when appealing the assessment of your personal property, a completed declaration form with itemized listing, or when appealing real property assessments, a list of comparable properties etc…those are only two examples of the type of evidence which may be submitted.  

Common Forms

Exemption or Tax Credit Applications/Information

Personal Property Declaration Forms

Land Classification Applications

Recommended reading for land owners wishing to apply for land classification under PA-490 (Farm or Forest) 

Board of Assessment Appeals Application Forms